ACLS Certification Recertification Arrhythmia Algorithm

Arrhythmias are irregular heartbeats that are not normal i.e. 72 beats/minute. Arrhythmias can be defined as: Dysfunctions causing abnormalities in impulse formation and conduction in the myocardium. There are two types of arrhythmias. These are
- Ventricular Tachycardia.
- Sinus Bradycardia.

Ventricular Tachycardia: If there is increase in the heart beat rate then it is referred as tachycardia.
Sinus Bradycardia: if there is decrease in the heart beat rate then it will be Bradycardia.

It is worth to note you can be educated on this topic when taking an online ACLS certification and recertification training course.

The Most Common Causes of arrhthmia:

The main cause or reason that arrhythmias are caused are from aberrations in impulse generation that is abnormal automaticity or from a detect in impulse conduction.

Abnormal automaticity: abnormal automatic discharges may be induced.
Effect of drugs on automaticity: most of the agents of anti-arrhythmic suppress automaticity. Some drugs also effect conduction of heart.

Abnormalities in impulse conduction: reentry is the most common cause of arrhythmias and it can occur at any stage of the cardiac conduction system. For example SA node is not given.

Effects of drugs on conduction abnormalities: these agents put off entering again by decreasing conduction or enhancing the refectory period needed.

ACLS Recertification Online Arrhythmia Algorithm

There are a few reputable organizations that offer courses in ACLS Recertification Online. One way of knowing it is a reputable site is if is operated by a practicing physician. Reputable organizations follow the latest AHA ACLS guidelines.

ACLS Drugs given to treat arrhthymias:

To treat arrhythmias, anti- arrhythmic drugs are given. Normally, there are four classes of anti-arrhythmic drugs which are used to treat arrhythmias. Anti-arrhythmia have tendency to initiate arrhythmias.

The four classes are
- CLASS I anti-arrhythmic drugs
- CLASS II anti-arrhythmic drugs
- CLASS III anti-arrhythmic drugs
- CLASS IV anti-arrhythmic drugs

Class I anti-arrhythmic drugs: the drugs of this class are known as Sodium channel blockers. The drugs in this class bind more rapidly to open or inactivate sodium channels. Drugs include in this class are Flecainide, Lidocaine, procainamide etc.

Class II anti-arrhythmic drugs: The drugs of this class are known as β-adrenergic receptor antagonist. These drugs weaken phase 4 depolarization. Drugs include are Propranolol, Esmolol and Metoprolol.

Class III anti-arrhythmic drugs: These drugs are helpful in blocking potassium channels. They weaken the outward potassium current which is made during phase of repolarization. The drugs in this type are sotalol, bretylium, amiodarone, and many more.

Class IV anti-arrhythmic drugs: these are calcium channel blockers. They are responsible for decreasing the inward current that is carried by calcium. The drugs include are verapamil, diltiazem etc.